Report of the Council for 2022

The Council presents to the members the 131st Annual Report for the year 2022 and the balance sheet for the financial year ending 31st October 2022.

The balance sheet shows a reasonably healthy position and thanks go to the chairman of finance J Waterhouse, his committee and C Newton for keeping it so. Thanks also go to Barbara for keeping administrative matters in order.

Thanks go once again to our Ladies who run the kitchen, we would be lost without them. Members should be reminded, all who work in the kitchen do so for nothing and should be treated with the greatest of respect at all times.

Thanks go to our Bar Manager Sue who is assisted by Jack Roberts, both are coping admirably. Chairman

of House Trevor Cash and volunteers are thanked for doing their best to keep the house in good order, a sometimes daunting task with an old building. course is holding up well, especially the greens. There are issues such as drainage problems but these have largely been identified and will be rectified during the coming season. Thanks go to the greens staff for their efforts. Thanks

go to Liz and Janet who head our Membership and Marketing Group. The Club web site is now fully functional. The Members Survey which they instigated proved very successful and has produced interesting feedback from you, the members.

Thanks go to Edith Howarth and her Social committee for organising social events. Please support them whenever possible.

We were very saddened this year to lose Derek, Stalwart of the Pro's shop, who will be a hard act to follow. We are currently looking for volunteers to manage the shop until a suitable replacement can be found.

On the golfing scene our men have to be congratulated for winning the Brian Atack Trophy for the first time since its beginning in 2001. The Ladies, Charlie Wade won the OLGA Chronicle Cup and the Team Plate Chronicle Cup won by Charlie Wade, Jane Antrobus, Sheila Antrobus and Adele Keate. Scott Leggatt County Foursomes won by Sheila Antrobus and Anne Rotchell. Lancashire Ladies Interclub, silver and bronze team qualified for County Finals. Wendy Cash and Ann Smith were divisional winners in the Manchester and District Past Captains. Bunty Booth Final runner up was Liz Johnson. Well done Ladies.

The Captain J Wood wishes to record his appreciation of the officials of the Club, Chairmen and their committees and all Members for the support they have given to make his year of office a memorable and enjoyable occasion.

Obituaries: Hon. Life Member Mr D Saunders. Hon. Life Member and Past Lady Captain and President Mrs O Sharpe.

Hon Secretary: Mr. J. BROOKS

Telephone: 0161 624 1955



Lees New Road. Oldham. OL4 5PN

Telephone: 0161 624 4986

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Dear Sir/Madam

THE ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY FIRST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING WILL BE HELD AT THE CLUB HOUSE AT 7.45 p.m. on Wednesday 8th February 2023

BUSINESS

- 1 Report of the Council and Balance Sheet
- 2 Installation of the new President
- 3 Ratification of the election of Treasurer
- 4 Election of the Club Captain and Vice Captain
- 5 Ratification of co-opted Council Members B Handley and S Ogden
- 6 Ratification of election of Lady President, Lady Captain and Lady Vice Captain
- 7 Any Other Business

Yours faithfully J Brooks Hon. Secretary

OLDHAM GOLF CLUB

President

J Keating

Captain

J Wood

Vice Captain

J Philips

Vice Presidents

M Lewis.

M Ganley

J Waterhouse

M MacCafferty

Hon. Secretary

J Brooks

Council

W Adamson, J Antrobus, W Cash, T Cash, D Garfield, B Handley

L Johnson, A Milner, S Ogden, J Thorpe, S Wagstaffe, J Waterhouse.

Rule 18 – No Vote is allowed at the AGM if payment of subscriptions has not been received by Sunday 5th February 2023

Oldham Golf Club

Nominations

For

Officers of the Club for the year 2023

Nomination	Proposer	Seconder
Captain		
J Philips	J Wood	J Brooks
Vice Captain		
S Ogden	J Philips	J Antrobus

Nominations for Council 2023

Nomination Proposer Seconder

There is one vacancy available on Council